IEEE Information Theory Society Board of Governors Meeting Toronto, Canada, July 6, 2008 Joao Barros

Attendees:

Emanuele Viterbo presented a proposal to hold an ITW in Taormina, Sicily, Italy, in October 11-16, 2009. Alex Grant moved to accept this proposal. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

The board discussed a proposal for technical co-sponsorship of the next Allerton Conference, in a joint e ort with the Control Systems Society. Alex Grant moved to approve this technical co-sponsorship. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Muriel Medard presented a proposal to hold ISIT at MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts, July 1-6, 2012. General Co-Chairs would be Lizhong Zheng and Muriel Medard, and the Technical Program Committee would be chaired by Giuseppe Caire, Michelle Effros, Andi Loeliger, and Alex Vardy. The conference would be held at the MIT campus. The proposal includes a barbecue to celebrate the Fourth of July and to watch the reworks, as well as various activities for families with children. Andrea Goldsmith and Dave Forney commended this e ort to make ISIT attractive for families. Alex Grant moved to accept this proposal. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Elza Erkip presented a proposal to hold ISIT 2013 in Istanbul, Turkey. The venue would be the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Center. General Chair would be Erdal Arikan, and the Technical Program Committee would be chaired by Emre Telatar and Jossy Sayir. The conference facilities are quite unique in Istanbul, and will have to be booked at a very early stage. The President thanked the team for putting together this proposal. The nal proposal will be voted on at the next meeting in Allerton.

The President suggested that the Board discuss strategic aspects of ITWs at one of the next meetings.

7. Aylin Yener presented the report of the Student Committee. This year's highlight was the First Annual Summer School on Information Theory, held at Penn State in the rst week of June. There were 150 applicants, and 101 students attended lectures by Vincent Poor, Toby Berger, Muriel Medard, and David Tse. Judging from the results of an anonymous survey, an overwhelming majority of participants would like this to be a yearly event.

Aylin Yener moved that the School of Information Theory become an annual event. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Daniela Tuninetti asked about the possibility of combining the School with ITWs. Giuseppe Caire mentioned the nancial burden of having the school in distant locations.

The Board thanked Aylin Yener and Gerhard Kramer heartily for their e orts.

8. On behalf of the Membership and Chapters Committee, Frank Kschischang moved that the Chapter of the Year Award be presented to the Kitchener/Waterloo Chapter. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Frank Kschischang informed the Board that he is working with Andrea Goldsmith on a proposal for a revitalized Distinguished Lecturer program.

9. Andrea Goldsmith presented the report of the Awards Committee. The committee handles three paper awards (IT Paper Award, Joint IT/Comsoc Paper Award, and

Baker Prize Paper Award, and presented the following motion:

The IEEE Information Theory Society, in partnership with other societies, strongly supports the continuation of the historic W. R. G. Baker Prize Paper Award. We are prepared to support modi cations in its terms to adapt the award to current conditions and to make it easier to administer, such as restricting the award to fundamental theoretical papers and broadening the time window to ve years so as better to assess impact. The IT Society will commit to providing one member to the selection committee every year, and will provide a proportionate amount of the cost of administering the award (now estimated at \$5000 per year, or the equivalent in endowment).

The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Andrea Goldsmith reported that the Committee had nominated Jacob Ziv for the new BBVA award.

Finally, Andrea Goldsmith suggested the possibility of splitting the committee to handle the heavy load of these various awards.

10. Dave Neuho , Chair of the Nominations and Appointments Committee, presented the following slate for the Fall 2008 election for the Board of Governors: Helmut Bolcskei, Ning Cai, Suhas Diggavi, Abbas El Gamal, Meir Feder, Alex Grant, Ioannis Kontoyiannis, Gerhard Kramer, Paul Siegel, Emina Soljanin, Venugopal Veeravalli, Sergio Verdu, and Pramod Viswanath. The Board approved the slate unanimously.

Muriel Medard and Giuseppe Caire were nominated for the position of Second Vice-President by Giuseppe Caire and Prakash Narayan, respectively.

11. J. Nicholas Laneman presented the Online Editor's report. There were three main items: (a) Plone experiment by the IT Summer School; (b) anticipation of Web hosting issues; and (c) update on new Web site project. The organizers of the IT Summer School were very successful in setting up their Web site using the Plone system with limited assistance. The Online Editor would like all the Web content of the Society to be under the same service provider. A proposal will be made at Allerton. He compared the current site with the proposed Web site design. The project is going well.

Aylin Yener suggested adding a special pointer to student resources.

Alex Grant stressed the bene ts of having a common infrastructure for the Web sites of the upcoming ISIT and ITWs.

Andi Loeliger asked whether there is con dence in the durability of the underlying software. Nick responded that, as an open source software platform, Plone involves a lodc(-256(Td [256(exp)he)-326(prop)-27(osed)-3ik)d [(soft)27(0.811 -24.-4841(ener)-4.446 Td27(wheth

12. Muriel Medard gave an update on the outreach e ort of the Society. The rst steps of this e ort, led by Bob Gray and Muriel Medard, were to request an initial budget of \$3000 from the Society, and to organize an event at ISIT 2008. Similar activities exist at ICASSP and in the Networking and Communications community. In future, there